Thursday, April 25

Akash Chopra selected India’s playing eleven for the first T20I against Australia

Akash Chopra. (Photo Source: Facebook)

Former Indian cricketer Akash Chopra has put forward India’s possible playing XI for T20I against Australia at Manuka Oval in Canberra. As his openers and number three, he went for KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan And Virat Kohli.

For the number four position, he went for Manish Pandey instead of Shreyas Iyer. Chopra feels that since Iyer will be part of the Test team, Pandey wants a chance and should not play a single game later on the tour.

“I am going with Manish Pandey at number 4. I have not chosen Shreyas Iyer, I have chosen Manish Pandey because I think Iyer will also be a part of the Test team but Pandey ji will come back without playing a match. This is not right, ”Chopra was quoted as saying on her YouTube channel.

Aakash Chopra says that I could have kept Sanju Samson as well

Chopra also thought about picking up Sanju Samson from Kerala but surpassed Pandey with more experience at the international level. Samson was part of the T20I series in New Zealand earlier this year and was dismissed cheaply at every other instance.

He said, “I could have placed Sanju Samson at number 4, but I would have to play Pandey ji ahead of Sanju because in terms of hierarchy, he was chosen first and played first and he got fewer chances.”

According to Chopra, Washington Sundar should play at number seven. Apart from Sundar, he went for Ravindra Jadeja and Hardik Pandya as the other two all-rounders. Chopra also wants T Natarajan to make his T20I debut after the fast bowler was affected in the third ODI.

He said, ‘After this my five bowlers – I will play one of Bumrah and Shami Deepak Chahar, Natarajan, Chahal and Washington Sundar, “Chopra said.

In the ODI series, Team India’s bowling went under the pump when they won over 350 in the first few matches. However, his bowlers breathed a sigh of relief after helping them win the third ODI by 13 runs.

Here are eleven

KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah / Mohammed Shami, T Natarajan, Yuzvendra Chahal