Friday, December 1

Australia veteran Glenn McGrath selected his top five ODI bowlers

Glenn McGrath. (Photo Ryan Pearce / Getty Images)

Former Australian fast bowler Glenn McGrath selected his top five ODI bowlers and most of them became fast bowlers. McGrath, also known as Pigeon, took 381 wickets in a 50-over format in a career spanning 14 years from 1993 to 2007. McGrath is the all-time leading wicket-taker for the Australian team in ODI cricket. ‘It’s not easy to get over her.

As for his fast bowlers, he started with the veteran Wasim akramPakistan fast bowler, who has 502 wickets in his name. The Sultan of Swing is also the highest wicket-taker for his country in shorter formats. McGrath then went to fellow country batsman Brett Lee, who has 380 wickets. Lee made his ODI debut in 2000 and played until 2012, putting on a lot of wings.

Glenn McGrath makes his pics

Lee was also one of the fastest bowlers of his generation. Lee discussed the ball with McGrath and introduced many quality batsmen in his career. McGraw put the name ahead of the third and final ODI against India at Australia’s Manuka Oval in Canberra on Wednesday, 2 December. As his third fast bowler, McGrath zeroed in on Chaminda Vaas.

Vaas is currently ranked fourth on the all-time major ODI wicket takers list. He was a Struggle for Sri Lanka and also took a hat-trick in the first over of the 2003 World Cup match against Habibul Bashar. Bangladesh. Vaas also played in the 2007 edition of the mega event before the last match in 2008. McGrath’s last choice was South African fast bowler Sean Pollock.

Pollock picked up 393 wickets in 303 ODIs, but his economy of 3.67 meant he was accurate and hardly allowed the batsmen to loose. In addition to the four paces, McGrath chose Muttiah Muralitharan as his lone spinner. Murali is currently the all-time leading wicket-taker in ODIs. He is one of the two bowlers to have taken more than 500 ODI wickets. His economy rate was 3.93.

Here is the list

Wasim Akram – 502 wickets, Muttiah Muralitharan – 534 wickets, Brett Lee – 380 wickets, Chaminda Vaas – 400 wickets, Shaun Pollock – 393 wickets