Monday, April 22

Brad Hogg picks the best XI after league stage of IPL 2020; leaves out KL Rahul and Kagiso Rabada

Brad Hogg. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Former Australian cricketer Brad Hogg has picked his best eleven after the conclusion of the league stage in the 2020 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). As openers, he woke up Shikhar Dhawan And Mayank Agarwal. Dhawan is currently third on the list of leading run-scorers and he also became the first batsman in the cash-rich tournament with back-to-back centuries.

Aggarwal missed a few games due to injury, but the Karnataka-born, with 424 runs at a strike-rate of 156.45, did not cheat in any way. However, that hog opted for KL Rahul as some of the openers raised eyebrows. Rahul is currently the Orange Cap holder, scoring 670 runs. He also holds the record for the highest individual score achieved by a captain in the IPL.

Hogg did not choose David Warner either. In the middle order, he went for Suryakumar Yadav, AB de Villiers, Eoin Morgan and Hardik Pandya. Morgan was the most fluent batsman for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), scoring 418 runs at an average of 41.80. Hardik Pandya did not get many chances to bat, but he has played at an impressive average and strike-rates of 34.42 and 174.63.

Suryakumar Yadav The Indian team could not make it to the Australia tour, but with 410 runs she was not disappointed by any stretch of the imagination. De Villiers has scored an average of 44.22 and 163.78 and 398 runs respectively. Among the fast bowlers, the hogs went for Jofra Archer, Mohammed Shami and Jaspreet Bumrah, who were silly to say the least.

No kagiso rabada eleven

However, Hogg did not pick Delhi Capitals (DC) Kagiso Rabada, the holder of the Purple Cap, who took 25 wickets for his efforts with four wickets to take. The South African fast bowlers missed wickets in only one or two matches. Among the spinners, Hogg dismissed leg-spinners Rashid Khan and Yuzvendra Chahal at zero. Even Rashid has 19 wickets, Chahal has 20 sixes in his name.

Here’s Brad Hogg’s XI:

Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, Suryakumar Yadav, AB de Villiers, Eoin Morgan, Hardik Pandya, Joffra Archer, Rashid Khan, Mohammed Shami, Jaspreet Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal.