Friday, December 1

IND vs WI Cricket West Indies announced 14-man Test squad for England tour


Jason Holder. (Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images,)

Cricket West Indies (CWI) has announced a squad of 14 members that will play against India for the England tour next year.

The team will be led by Jason Holder. The West Indies and India selectors have added two uncapped players, Chemar Holder and Nkrumah Bonner.

The series will be played behind closed doors, given the United Kingdom government allows the traveling team to enter the country. The series is scheduled to begin on July 8.

The three matches of the Wisden trophy 2020 will be played entirely in a bio-secure environment.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the series which was originally supposed to be played in June has been shifted to July.

After a lot of confusion, finally, England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced the schedule for the series.

11 reserve players announced along with the 14-member squad

Under the leadership of Jason Holder, the West Indies squad of 14 players will arrive in England with some significant time before the first Test. The first match of the series will be played at the Hampshire Bowl in Southampton. After this, the next two Test matches will be played in Old Trafford from July 16 and July 24 respectively.

The selectors have also announced a separate 11 reserve players along with the 14 Test regulars. Young fast bowler Chemar Holder, who is not related to captain Jason Holder, has been impressive in the domestic cricket has finally earned a place in the Test side.

Bonner, the right-handed batsman from Jamaica has also received his maiden call-up for the Test side. Unfortunately, Shannon Gabriel is yet to gain match fitness and Jomel Warrican, who was part of the Test squad during their last appearance in the red-ball format. Meanwhile, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, and Keemo Paul declined to tour England.

The last time, England and West Indies played a Test series was in the Caribbean early in 2019. The hosts under the leadership of Jason Holder won that three-match series 2-1.

West Indies squad for England Tests: Jason Holder (c), J Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, K Brathwaite, S Brooks, J Campbell, R Chase, R Cornwall, S Dowrich (wk), C Holder, S Hope, A Joseph, R Reifer, K Roach

Reserves: Sunil Ambris, Joshua da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Keon Harding, Kyle Mayers, Preston McSween, Marquino Mindley, Shane Moseley, Anderson Philip, Oshane Thomas, Jomel Warrican virat kohli

Source: CricTracker To Get the Latest Cricket News,Updates,Videos,Memes Stay Tuned to CricEarth