Monday, April 22

IPL 2020: Ajit Agarkar named his best XI of the tournament

Ajit Agarkar. (Photo Ramesh Sharma / India Today Group / Getty Images)

Former Indian cricketer Ajit Agarkar kept his best XI of the 2020 Indian Premier League (IPL). As openers, he went for David Warner and Shikhar Dhawan. Warner, another time, turned out for a stalwart for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), both as a captain and a top-order batsman.

Dhawan was second in the list of Orange Cap holders after Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) KL Rahul. Dhawan also became the first batsman in T20 tournament history with back to back centuries. He started the event with some slow pace, but then found his rhythm.

At number three, Agarkar chose Ishan Kishan, who was influential in the top and middle order for Mumbai Indians (MI). Agarkar did not leave for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Virat Kohli. Agarkar made the revelations in a video posted by Star Sports on his YouTube channel.

At number four, he went for Suryakumar Yadav, who played some useful cameos in the middle order for the Mumbai franchise. Many also believe that he should have played for India by now. Along with Surya, Agarkar picked AB de Villiers, who had a great time for the Challengers, who was ruled out of the IPL of 2020 after a loss to the Sunrisers at the Eliminator.

Ajit Agarkar left Rashid Khan

Hardik Pandya was Agarkar’s pick for sixth place. Agarkar made Marcus Stoinis his only specialist all-rounder. Stoinis took wickets and also scored three half-centuries. He was also used as an opener in the playoffs and finals. As his fast bowlers, Agarkar went for Kagiso Rabada and Jaspreet Bumrah. Rabada took 29 wickets as the Purple Cap holder.

On the other hand, Bumrah took 27 wickets and was arguably the standout bowler for the Mumbai team. Agarkar chose Yuzvendra Chahal and Varun Chakraborty as their specialist spinners. Chahal was the leading wicket taker for the Challengers. Varun of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) was the only bowler to take five wickets, which he took against the Capitals in Abu Dhabi.

Here is XI:

David Warner, Shikhar Dhawan, Ishaan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, AB de Villiers, Hardik Pandya, Marcus Stoinis, Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakraborty