Sunday, October 1

No place for Virat Kohli in Brad Hogg”s current best Test XI


Former Australian chinaman bowler Brad Hogg recently picked the current best Test XI. In his lineup, Hogg tried to choose the best team with players who’ve had a fabulous 2019-20 season.

At the opening slot, the ex-Aussie went with India’s new-found Test opening batting pair Mayank Agarwal and Rohit Sharma.

The two cashed on the opportunities provided in the recently concluded season, after receiving their well-deserved opportunity in red-ball cricket after a long time.

Then, Hogg picked Australia’s batting mainstay in the middle order, Steve Smith and Marnus Labushagne who have oozed runs of their blade in Test cricket of late.

The most notable decision in Hogg’sTest lineup was to exclude: Virat Kohli and go for Babar Azam at number five. His decision came in the aftermath of the recent lean patch which Kohli is suffering in the international cricket.

“The reason why I have included Babar Azam in the lineup is that he scored a hundred against Australia in Brisbane when Pakistan toured Australia last year. It’s very hard for overseas teams to perform on that particular wicket, but he showed that he could, and that is why he is one of the best players going around,” ” cry me a Hogg.

“Everyone will ask why is Virat Kohli not in this team?” he said. “But if you look at his last 15 Test innings, only four times he has gone over 31 [runs]. That’s why Virat Kohli is not my Test team this year,” Hogg explained in his YouTube video.

The other Indian cricketers to feature in Hogg’s lineup are Mohammed Shami and Ajinkya Rahane. Hogg then included fellow Australians Pat Cummins and Nathan Lyon in the lineup, who have been on a wicket-taking spree in the season gone by.

Further, Hogg appointed South African wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock as the captain of his side. Neil Wagner is the only Kiwi in Hogg”s current best Test XI.

Here is Brad Hogg”s current best Test XI:

Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Babar Azam, Ajinkya Rahane, Quinton de Kock (c/wk), Pat Cummins, Mohammed Shami, Neil Wagner, Nathon Lyon.

For more Follow our Facebook Page . Source: CT