Tuesday, April 16

Rajdeep Sardesai picks his all-time India ODI XI ,chooses Rohit Sharma to open with Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar and Rohit Sharma. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

The ongoing Coronavirus pandemic has led to the cricketing action being stopped almost all over the world. During this period, many cricket experts and former players have picked their all-time XIs in respective formats. And India’s former first-class cricketer and senior journalist Rajdeep Sardesai and has joined the bandwagon now as he picked the country’s all-time XI in the ODI format.

Starting with the openers, he went with both the prominent Mumbai cricketers in Rohit Sharma and Sachin Tendulkar. The former is currently India’s vice-captain in the limited-overs formats and has been tormenting the opposition bowlers with ease ever since he’s started opening the innings. Sachin, on the other hand, makes it to almost every all-time XIs thanks to his impeccable record in Tests and ODIs.

Rajdeep Sardesai went with the current India skipper Virat Kohli as the number three batsman. He averages almost 60 in the 50-over format and it is no surprise that he has been picked at the crucial place. Yuvraj Singh and MS Dhoni will pair up to bat at five and six. The duo has ripped apart most of the opposition while batting together during the peak of their careers.

Unsurprisingly, MS Dhoni will lead Sardesai’s all-time India ODI XI and he will take up the wicketkeeping job as well having done it for the most part of his career. Interestingly, he was unsure to pick one player among Mohammad Azharuddin and Mohinder Amarnath for the coveted number four position. Both the cricketers were exceptional batsmen of their era and won a lot of matches for the country.

Kapil Dev and Ravi Shastri also make it to the team

Kapil Dev and Ravi Shastri are the two all-rounders Rajdeep Sardesai picked in his XI during the conversation with Cow Corner Chronicles. While the former is India’s first-ever World Cup-winning captain and the best all-rounder the country has ever produced, Shastri, the current head coach of the team, was one of best players of his era as well.

Sardesai went with only three specialist bowlers having picked two talented all-rounders. Anil Kumble is the lone spinner in the side with Shastri available to bowl his slow-left arm orthodox. And the pace attack comprises of Jasprit Bumrah and Zaheer Khan apart from Dev. This XI looks strong and complete with most of the bases covered despite the fact that the likes of Sourav Ganguly and Virender Sehwag haven’t been selected.

Here’s Rajdeep Sardesai’s India all-time ODI XI: Rohit Sharma, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Mohammad Azharuddin/Mohinder Amarnath, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (C & WK), Kapil Dev, Ravi Shastri, Anil Kumble, Zaheer Khan, Jasprit Bumrah.

Source: CricTracker To Get the Latest Cricket News,Updates,Videos,Memes Stay Tuned to CricEarth