Sunday, April 14

Rohit Sharma joins India’s Test team for Australia tour; BCCI gave paternity leave to Virat Kohli


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced revised squads for the upcoming Australia tour of India. The selection committee met on Sunday to call on a select few players and did not select the team last month. After so much babbling Rohit Sharma Due to injury, he included him in the Test team and rested him for the ODI and T20I series to regain full fitness.

In another development, captain Virat Kohli has been granted paternity leave and will return from Australia after the first match of the four-match Test series. He and his wife Anushka Sharma Looking forward to the birth of their first child in early January, while the first Test (day-night) between India and Australia is scheduled to be played in Adelaide from 17 December to 21 December.

“In the selection committee meeting held on October 26, 2020, Mr. Virat Kohli informed the BCCI of his plans to return to India after the first Test in Adelaide. The BCCI has granted paternity leave to the Indian captain. He will return after the first Test against Australia in Adelaide, ”the BCCI statement read in a release. Meanwhile, Sanju Samson has been included in the ODI squad as additional wicketkeeper.

Varun Chakraborty ruled out of T20I series

KKR spinner Varun Chakraborty has opted out of the T20 series against Australia due to a sensational injury. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) fast bowler T Natarajan has been replaced after bowling in the death overs in IPL 2020. As far as Ishant Sharma is concerned, he is constantly getting healthy and after regaining full fitness he will be included in the Test team.

Wicket-keeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha Recently suffered a hamstring injury and could not even play in Qualifier 2 for SRH. The call will be taken later on its availability. Kamlesh Nagerkoti was selected as the additional bowler for the Down Under Tour. However, he will no longer travel as the BCCI medical team is monitoring his work management.

Here are the modified squad:

Team India T20I Team: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jaspreet Bumrah, mo. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T. Natarajan.

Team India ODI team: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaspreet Bumrah, Mohammad . Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Sanju Samson (wicket keeper).

Team India Test Team: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jaspreet Bumrah, Mo. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, mo. Siraj.