Saturday, March 2

Sony Sports reinstates Sanjay Manjrekar in commentary panel for Australia tour

Sanjay Manjrekar (Photo Source: Facebook)

Former Indian cricketer, Sanjay Manjrekar, is set to make his return to the commentary box during the Australia tour of India from 27 November. The veteran was earlier removed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) for 2020. Indian Premier League (IPL) edition. After considerable examples, Manjrekar faced the wrath of the netizens for his harsh words.

However, in the 22-man commentary panel for the full-fledged tour of India, he was named by Sony Pictures Sports Network (SPSN) on Thursday. India’s campaign will begin on Friday with the O20 series followed by the T20I series. The Border-Gavaskar Trophy is to be held on 17 December. The Indian players are currently in Sydney and are training after arriving last Thursday.

A chance to make a strong comeback for Sanjay Manjrekar

As far as Manjrekar is concerned, he found himself in controversy after calling Ravindra Jadeja a ‘bits and pieces’ cricketer during the 2019 World Cup. Subsequently, during the day-night test against India Bangladesh At the Eden Gardens in November, he had an ugly spat with Harsha Bhogle. Subsequently, Indian fans called for his removal from the commentary panel.

Manjrekar will now be keen to amend his upcoming term. In the meantime, it is pertinent to note that the great Sunil Gavaskar was not included in the list of commentators. Arjun Pandit and Harsha Bhogle were presented as official presenters. Members of India’s 2011 World Cup winning team included Zaheer Khan and Virender Sehwag.

Here is the list of commentators

English and hindi: Ajit Agarkar, Sanjay Manjrekar, Harsha Bhogle, Murali Karthik, Ajay Jadeja

Hindi: Virender Sehwag, Mohammad Kaif, Vijay Dahiya, Vivek Razdan, Zaheer Khan

English: Glenn McGrath and Nick Knight

Telugu: RJ Hemant, Vijay Mahavadi, Dnyaneshwar Rao, C Venkatesh, Ilendula Ramprasad

Tamil: T Arasu, Seshadri Srinivasan, Vidyut Sivaramakrishna, R Satish, Naveen Shaur

Back in 2017-18, Cricket Australia signed a six-year deal with Sony Pictures Sports Network. As per the contract, all live cricket matches in Australia will be broadcast on Sony and streamed live on Sony Live. Sony also aired India’s previous Tour Down Under in 2018-19.