Friday, March 1

West Indies announces new Test squad for England series after three players opt out due to COVID-19 scare


The cricketing action is all set to return as the England versus West Indies Test series will commence on July 8 at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton. The original schedule, however, was supposed to begin from June 4 but was postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Now, Cricket West Indies (CWI) has announced a 14-man squad for the English Test series. Nkrumah Bonner and Chemar Holder, both their uncapped at Test level, are part of the West Indies squad, which is expected to land in England on June 9.

However, in the wake of the pandemic, three Caribbean players – Shimron Hetmyer, Darren Bravo and Keemo Paul –have opted out from the tour to England.

“Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer and Keemo Paul all declined the invitation to travel to England for the tour and CWI fully dont be their decision to choose to do so,” CWI said in a statement.

“As previously stated, CWI will not hold this decision against these players when considering future selection,” the statement added.

Apart from the original squad, the West Indies have also called an 11-man list of reserves who will travel with the team. This group includes some famous names like Shannon Gabriel, Sunil Ambris and Oshane Thomas.

Jason Holder will lead the team which will first land in Manchester, where they will train for three weeks under strict bio-secure measures.

Here are the fixtures:

  • 8-12 July: First Test at Ageas Bowl, Southampton
  • 16-20 July: Second Test at Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester
  • 24-28 July: Third Test at Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester

Here is the West Indies Squad:

Jason Holder (c), Kraigg Brathwaite, Shai Hope, Shane Dowrich, Roston Chase, Shemarh Brooks, Rahkeem Cornwall, Nkrumah Bonner, Alzarri Joseph, Chemar Holder, John Campbell, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach, Jermaine Blackwood.

Reserves: Sunil Ambris, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Keon Harding, Kyle Mayers, Preston McSween, Marquino Mindley, Shane Moseley, Anderson Phillip, Oshane Thomas, Jomel Warrican.

For more Follow our Facebook Page . Source: CT