Wednesday, February 21

JP Duminy names his all-time IPL XI, chooses Virat Kohli as Skipper

JP Duminy and Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Since the inception of Indian Premier League, many global, as well as Indian stars, have taken the tournament by storm. Over the years, many players have braced the league and have left no stones unturned in proving their mettle. It will be a tedious task for anyone to pick best-performing players of the IPL since the tournament’s inception.

Meanwhile, at a time when the sporting scenario is at a standstill, South Africa‘s JP Duminy dished out an all-time IPL XI for his fans in ‘The Super Over Podcast’. To start off his side, Duminy went with the left-handed opening duo of Chris Gayle and Adam Gilchrist. Along with being a dependable opener, Gilchrist is one of the safest keepers behind the stumps while Gayle is one of the most lethal batsmen across the globe.

Following both the world-class openers, Duminy slotted the Indian duo of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli at the No.3 and No.4 slots respectively. Both Virat and Rohit are currently at the peak of their careers and they’re expected to play a crucial role for India in the upcoming T20 World Cup.

JP Duminy also picked AB de Villiers in his squad

Rohit and Kohli have also done wonders while leading Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore respectively. RCB haven’t lifted the IPL trophy yet but that doesn’t rule out the batting efficiency and leadership skills of ‘King Kohli’. Duminy also assigned the captain’s role to the current India skipper.

Following Kohli, Duminy picked his compatriot AB de Villiers, who has dismantled many bowling lineups while donning the RCB jersey. For the all-rounders’ slot, Duminy went with the Caribbean duo of Kieron Pollard and Andre Russell.

Russell was in stupendous form in the previous IPL as he smashed 510 runs at an average of 56.66. Similarly, Pollard also performed exceedingly well for Mumbai Indians by smashing 178 runs at an average of 34.87.

Coming on to the bowling attack, Duminy went with two speedsters and two spinners. In the pace force of his all-time IPL XI, Duminy went with Brett Lee and Lasith Malinga. While one is known for his lethal pace, the other is known for his pinpoint accuracy and yorkers.

To finish things off, Duminy slotted two veterans– Muttiah Muralitharan and Imran Tahir in his squad. Muralitharan, in his 66 IPL games, scalped 63 wickets at an economy below 7. Tahir, who is known for his expertise in the shorter format, also boasts an impressive IPL record. In 55 IPL matches, the South African has plucked 79 wickets including 3 four-wicket hauls.

Here’s the video:

Source: CricTracker To Get the Latest Cricket News,Updates,Videos,Memes Stay Tuned to CricEarth