Wednesday, June 16

The 10 teams will be divided into two groups – the new format of the IPL from the 2021 season

IPL Trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) The Indian Premier League (IPL) is set to add two new teams in the upcoming season. The approval will reportedly be given at the board’s annual general meeting to be held on 24 December. This is not the first time that 10 teams will fight for glory in the IPL.

In 2011, 10 teams participated in the season, while in the next two editions of the T20, nine teams took part. And now with the possibility of two new teams being cleared by the BCCI, there are also 10 teams scheduled for IPL 2021. Earlier, it was reported that only one team would be added before the next season, while the 10th franchise would be added next season.

However, the franchisees were reportedly not happy with it as there were two mega auctions in that case. Meanwhile, the addition of two new teams will now change for the next IPL season.

What will be the format for IPL 2021?

Currently, the participating eight teams face each other twice in the round-robin format, leading to 14 matches in the league stage, before the top four teams made it to the playoffs. However, the number will go up to 18 after the two teams join, which could lead to a longer IPL season and more matches.

Also Read: Ranking of the top 8 franchises by money, they spent in the history of IPL

But according to the Times of India, the format will change in IPL 2021 and the organizers are considering to be used back in 2011. As per the format in 2011, 10 teams will be divided into two groups of five. With all sides playing 14 matches in the league stage only – face the other four teams in your group twice (home game and away game), face four teams in the second group and then face the remaining team twice. do.

A random draw was used to determine the groups and select which team played against the other once or twice. The format looked complicated, but there was a lot of time left for the BCCI after that.